Obama (Rob)

If he runs, I’m voting for him, for several reasons. But, I think he made a great point in his “Call to Renewal” (for Sojourners) speech:

Democracy demands that the religiously motivated translate their concerns into universal, rather than religion-specific, values. It requires that their proposals be subject to argument, and amenable to reason. I may be opposed to abortion for religious reasons, but if I seek to pass a law banning the practice, I cannot simply point to the teachings of my church or evoke God’s will. I have to explain why abortion violates some principle that is accessible to people of all faiths, including those with no faith at all.

Of course, this is a hot issue. I definitely tend to agree with Hauerwas in his approach toward abortion, BUT not in his approach toward political involvement. So, I think Volf is right, Hauerwas has nothing helpful to say about this.

9 Comments

Filed under Gospel

9 responses to “Obama (Rob)

  1. Rob

    What would Volf call for? I can guess at what that would be but I would like some clarification, thanks bro.

  2. Volf talked quite a bit about Hauerwas’ approach to political involvement at this year’s Emergent Convention. Basically, that he disagrees and thinks believers do have an obligation to be involved in cultural renewal, not just building the holiness of the Church.

  3. Cool, thanks for the info. I think I would concur with Volf as well, although I can understand why Hauerwas would believe in the building up of the church. I guess what it comes down to is how incarnational do you view the church in the world. To me, it appears that Volf has a fuller, more robust view of the impact that the church can make.

  4. Jared

    I know that one of the things that Dunn points out about Paul’s ethics is that a lot of the things that we think are abstract (the ‘not yet’ as it were) are the things that should actually ground our broader understanding and practice of ethics in life. I think that Senator Obama has a point. We’re not getting anywhere with subcultural exclusivity. Unfortunately, though, the political climate in this country has got to change. The candidates decide the issues and dictate what is important to the population at large. Something has got to change in the nature of our dialogue. I think that the best way to respond to this problem is to localize our responses to problems. too much centralization is a terrible thing. It puts us in a place where the “conversation” is dictated to us by others. That’s why I say, f@ck the Democratic and Republican parties, they’re the two groups dictating to everyone and disenfrachising anyone who’s interested in issues they haven’t plundered of all meaning.

  5. Rob

    I definitely agree, that no one party is going to save anything. But, where I’m at right now, is trying to decide my role in participating in the system we have been placed in. I’ve never voted on anything, but if I want to vote in Oklahoma, I have to pick a team.

    Of course, my fear is being simply reactionary to the right wing dogma I grew up with.

  6. Jared

    I can feel you there, but be weary of too much of that.

  7. Jared

    I don’t know why I said ‘weary’, I meant wary. Be wary of too much of that.

  8. Jesus welcomes all who are weary as well as those who are wary Jared

  9. Jared

    So does Barak Obama.

Leave a Reply

