Book Plug: The Pleasure of My Company

Steve Martin's book

 Per Chad’s request, I picked up a copy of Steve Martin’s The Pleasure of My Company. It’s not a long book, I think 160 pages or something and I read it quickly. If you’re wondering if it is the same Steve Martin of SNL, The Jerk, Father of the Bride, etc., then you are spot on. Not only do I think he’s a great comedic actor, but he’s also a wonderful writer. His book centers on neurotic Daniel Cambridge, whose isolated and pristine life is challenged by those around him. Martin has a great ability to describe loneliness, and the desire for connectedness and companionship. Overall, just a great read. Didn’t change my perspective or anything, just my awareness of my own need in my life.

 So pick it up, I actually found it at Border’s for $3.99!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Book Plug: The Pleasure of My Company

  1. LiteratureLover

    Sounds good. I’ll have to check that out.

Leave a Reply

