Fiona Apple/Coldplay

Last night, Heather and I sat in the Ford Center in Oklahoma City, and watched the best concert either of us have ever witnessed in our lives. Fiona of course did her best Janis Joplin impression, dancing about in a style that can at best be described as the Elaine dance in fast forward. Sadly, I think most of her music fell on deaf ears, as concert goers arrived late and the ones who did witness her short setlist didn’t fully appreciate her passion. I admit, I am not a Fiona Apple enthusiast, but I did appreciate her vigor and her verbose songs consisting of heartache and vindication.

But, to Coldplay I must turn my homage. The theatrics of the whole thing were in and of themselves spectacular alone. Behind the stage was a huge screen with an array of images, but often displayed video captions of Chris Martin on piano and the other members playing their respective instruments. During the song “The Scientist”, the image on the screen zoomed slowly from outer space into the molecules that exist in a human body. During the song “Yellow”, several yellow balls were dropped from the rafters onto the floor crowd, each eventually exploding and spreading gold confetti everywhere! Like Fiona, Coldplay played and sang with a passion that I have seen outmatched only by The Dave Matthews Band. These guys seem to really enjoy each other’s presence and appreciate the music that each one contributes. I also appreciated the fact that they chose to sing Johnny Cash’s “Ring of Fire” after singing “Til Kingdom Come” (a song originally written for Cash). After the encore, they chose to sing three of my favorite songs of theirs: Swallowed in the Sea, In My Place, and Fix You! Needless to say, it was a great night and it was the best concert I have ever witnessed.

I realize this is less of a review and more of a celebration of a great band, but you know what, I don’t care! Have a good day, enjoy the beautiful weather (if you live in Oklahoma!).

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Fiona Apple/Coldplay

  1. h b

    Yay for the awesome show! Notice, however, the statment “…after the encore they played three of…” That’s right, AFTER the ENCORE, they played 3 songs. It was kinda like RENT, only…better.

  2. Rent? After a series of comments about coldplay you bring up a musical? Showtunes? My, my, my.

  3. Glad you guys had fun! It sounds like it was an incredible concert.

Leave a Reply

