A Ghost is Born

“He who loves his life loses it, and he who hates his life in this world will keep it to life eternal.”

-Jesus, in the Gospel of John 12.25

I have been thinking about this statement for a couple of days now. Sometimes I wonder what reaction Jesus’ statements made, especially in the context of first century Judaism. What they mean for me seems completely different to what a poor Jew living under Roman rule would have faced. For me, laying down my life appears to be simply denying myself from sin (my own and from the outside world), denying comfort, and surrendering my money, vocation, and relationships to his rule. I know that due to changes in history, especially in its sociological, technological, and epistemological forms, I cannot and do not face the same issues that a first century Jew would have faced, nor do I react with the same emotions and thoughts when I hear Jesus’ words. Yet, I feel that on some level my intensity is not at the same level as most of his hearers would have been at. I live in a relatively safe country, city, and neighborhood. Can I surrender my life with the same integrity, intention, and intensity (all the “I” beginnings would make most Baptist preachers proud) as others in the past. Have we as Christians neutered what it means to live a surrendered life? Have I?

I was flipping through the channels and Pat Robertson was praying and encouraging others to pray that a Supreme Court judge would be picked who had godly, conservative values and would restore our present situation. To me, part of this is the problem, yet it is not the only one. We have trumped up this image of the Christian nation, one where Christendom and America reign as one united entity and where all who desire to live under the banner of these values may find their rest. In my opinion, all we have created is lazy Christians who do not have to challenge the Empire, instead they have become the martyrs for tradition and for an America that has seen it’s society go down the toilet. I agree that America as a country is perverse, that it’s values of relativism, lust, and oppression have dominated for way too long. However, we should not hope to be a theocracy either. The church and the nation should never be bedfellows, for if that happens, American values and Christian values become blurred and the church no longer has a prophetic voice, therefore it is neutered as well.

So what does surrender have to do with the separation of church and state? I believe that we as Christians must surrender our identity of being American first and Christian second. I confused the two for way too long and I have repented of it. I believe that we must challenge the value system of America, not just in it’s liberal ideologies but in it’s conservative forms as well. The value system of the Right and the Left are not the same as the one of Christ, both are insufficient when compared to the kingdom. I also surrender the American dream, the one that tells me that a stable house in a quiet neighborhood with a wife and kids is equal to success ( this is the one most dear to me). Surrender for me has become the surrender of my dreams and hopes, the ones that solely make me happy and do not in the end benefit the cause of God or others in need.

I mentioned one aspect of the problem as the confused value system of American Christianity, but I have not mentioned the biggest opponent to Christ, and that is me. For I want the simple life, the one that makes me feel good and appears normal. I want to write, think, and live for myself. I do not want an authority, I do not want someone else’s narrative to rule my life. I want my own. But I must repent of this, I must bow down each day to the way of Christ. I must surrender my agenda for his. I pray that I can…

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “A Ghost is Born

  1. =’Brand New News Fr0m The Timber Industry!!’=

    ========Latest Profile==========
    Energy & Asset Technology, Inc. (EGTY)
    Current Price $0.15
    ================================

    Recognize this undiscovered gem which is poised to jump!!

    Please read the following Announcement in its Entierty and
    Consider the Possibilities�
    Watch this One to Trad,e!

    Because, EGTY has secured the global rights to market
    genetically enhanced fast growing, hard-wood trees!

    EGTY trading volume is beginning to surge with landslide Announcement.
    The value of this Stoc,k appears poised for growth! This one will not
    remain on the ground floor for long.

    KEEP READING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    ===============
    “BREAKING NEWS”
    ===============

    -Energy and Asset Technology, Inc. (EGTY) owns a global license to market
    the genetically enhanced Global Cedar growth trees, with plans to
    REVOLUTIONIZE the forest-timber industry.

    These newly enhanced Globa| Cedar trees require only 9-12 years of growth
    before they can be harvested for lumber, whereas worldwide growth time for
    lumber is 30-50 years.

    Other than growing at an astonishing rate, the Global Cedar has a number
    of other benefits. Its natural elements make it resistant to termites, and
    the lack of oils and sap found in the wood make it resistant to forest fire,
    ensuring higher returns on investments.
    T
    he wood is very lightweight and strong, lighter than Poplar and over twice
    as strong as Balsa, which makes it great for construction. It also has
    the unique ability to regrow itself from the stump, minimizing the land and
    time to replant and develop new root systems.

    Based on current resources and agreements, EGTY projects revenues of $140
    Million with an approximate profit margin of 40% for each 9-year cycle. With
    anticipated growth, EGTY is expected to challenge Deltic Timber Corp. during
    its initial 9-year cycle.

    Deltic Timber Corp. currently trades at over $38.00 a share with about $153
    Million in revenues. As the reputation and demand for the Global Cedar tree
    continues to grow around the world EGTY believes additional multi-million
    dollar agreements will be forthcoming. The Global Cedar nursery has produced
    about 100,000 infant plants and is developing a production growth target of
    250,000 infant plants per month.

    Energy and Asset Technology is currently in negotiations with land and business
    owners in New Zealand, Greece and Malaysia regarding the purchase of their popular
    and profitable fast growing infant tree plants. Inquiries from the governments of
    Brazil and Ecuador are also being evaluated.

    Conclusion:

    The examples above show the Awesome, Earning Potential of little
    known Companies That Explode onto Investor�s Radar Screens.
    This s-t0ck will not be a Secret for long. Then You May Feel the Desire to Act Right
    Now! And Please Watch This One Trade!!

    GO EGTY!

    All statements made are our express opinion only and should be treated as such.
    We may own, take position and sell any securities mentioned at any time. Any
    statements that express or involve discussions with respect to predictions,
    goals, expectations, beliefs, plans, projections, object’ives, assumptions or
    future events or perfo’rmance are not
    statements of historical fact and may be
    “forward,|ooking statements.” forward,|ooking statements are based on expectations,
    estimates and projections at the time the statements are made that involve a number
    of risks and uncertainties which could cause actual results or events to differ
    materially from those presently anticipated. This newsletter was paid $3,000 from
    third party (IR Marketing). Forward,|ooking statements in this action may be identified
    through the use of words such as: “pr0jects”, “f0resee”, “expects”. in compliance with
    Se’ction 17. {b), we disclose the holding of EGTY shares prior to the publication of
    this report. Be aware of an inherent conflict of interest resulting from such holdings
    due to our intent to profit from the liquidation of these shares. Shar,es may be sold
    at any time, even after positive statements have been made regarding the above company.
    Since we own shares, there is an inherent conflict of interest in our statements and
    opinions. Readers of this publication are cautioned not
    to place undue reliance on
    forward,|ooking statements, which are based on certain assumptions and expectations
    involving various risks and uncertainties that could cause results to differ materially
    from those set forth in the forward- looking statements. This is not solicitation to
    buy or sell st-0cks, this text is or informational purpose only and you should seek
    professional advice from registered financial advisor before you do anything related
    with buying or selling st0ck-s, penny st’0cks are very high risk and you can lose your
    entire inves,tment.

  2. Anonymous

    Google Sidebar Plug-Ins
    Google has added a Sidebar section to its Google Desktop plug-ins page. Currently five Sidebar additions are offered; this is only the second day of Sidebar’s public life, the developer information has been …
    Dish Network North Carolina HDTV – Dishnetwork offers a variety of Dishnetworth HD programming such as theater-quality Dishnetwork movie channels, educational and nature Dishnetwork programming, Dishnetwork PPV HD movies, and Dishnetwork HD broadcasts of special events. Check out my site, it’s all about Dish Network North Carolina

  3. Anonymous

    good post… thanks.

    Jon
    My site: iq and personality test

  4. Anonymous

    This blog is awesome! If you get a chance you may want to visit this PDF Writer site, it’s pretty awesome too!

  5. Anonymous

    Cache 22 by Miss_P_G
    This blog has been written to say that Miss_P_G is back on Sullekha. I missed all my pals and felt as if something dear to me is taken away from me in this absence of net connection at my PC.
    Directv Connecticut offers an incredible selection of entertainment for every member of the family — all in the 100% digital-quality picture and sound that Directv Connecticut is known for. Check out my site on Directv Connecticut

  6. Anonymous

    Nathan’s hot dogs in hot water for labeling otaku ‘sickening’
    Outrage online over the comments made on the part-time worker’s blog forced Nathan’s Franchisees of Japan to make a public apology.
    Great blog, keep up the good work! I will bookmark it and come back again soon.
    I have a a credit site/blog that is related to credit stuff.
    Check it out if you have time!

  7. Anonymous

    Hey there, you’ve got a great blog here! I’m thinking of bookmarking your site!

    I have a 4 digital camera megapixel review site. It pretty much covers 4 digital camera megapixel review

    related stuff.

    Come and check it out if you get time 🙂

  8. Anonymous

    Hi, I was just surfing and found your blog! I also have a site about boston globe .com but not a blog yet…If you are interested, go see my boston globe .com related site. It isnt anything special but you may still find something of interest.

    : ) Tom

  9. Anonymous

    Newsweek stories get Technorati top ten rating
    For editors who care what people think of their writing, blog indexes are a veritable readers’ panel – type in a URL and you reveal the kind of conversations started in response to published articles.
    Nice to see some decent content for a change. FYI, I log on today and see that we’ve got a new feature, the ‘Flag blog’ button, which is inconveniently located between the ‘Get Your Own Blog’ and ‘Next Blog’ buttons so that we would presumably be getting some flags on error alone (although if one happens to notice it, you can unflag a blog) But that’s a trivial matter. What concerns me is this: When a person visiting a blog clicks the “Flag?” button in the Blogger Navbar, it means they believe the content of the blog may be potentially offensive or illegal. We track the number of times a blog has been flagged as objectionable and use this information to determine what action is needed. This feature allows the blogging community as a whole to identify content they deem objectionable. Ok, see the problem with this? What’s “objectionable. And there lies the problem: what is objectionable? Just my 2 cents, Disposable Contact Lens

  10. Anonymous

    Cool blog you have here, you have done a great job setting it up.
    Car Loans

  11. Anonymous

    Terrific blog! Please check out this site
    too!

  12. Anonymous

    Hi,I really like your blog.
    How long have you been blogging?
    I have just set up my first website about
    antique sea witch–>

Leave a Reply

